How Scammers Use Work At Home Job Ads

February 29, 2008 by Chuck | 0 Comments

This is apparently a job posting in the name of a legitimate company called “Ashley Furniture

There is good reason to believe it to be a scam however. Some have reported it’s a scam run by a Nigerian ring.

How could you tell this from the ad? What should alert you before you respond?

One thing is the email address. It’s to an “AOL” address!

AOL.com addresses used to mean something because at least they weren’t free like yahoo or hotmail. But for business purposes in 2008 for a major corporation, that’s a “no no” and it should raise your suspicions… even if you were applying for a job at AOL!

Ashley Furniture has a contact page and the technical know how to process employment applications online (or at least hire it done!) Here in, fact, is their careers page..

Furniture is heavy.

This ad claims that they are international (likely so you won’t feel quite so stupid dealing with an international contact).

But here are the locations where (as of 2/29) Ashley Furniture is hiring on the Careers Page:

Search the keywords under careers and there are no accounts receivable positions listed at this time.

Nor are there positions in “Minnesota”.

Always check out EVERY job lead carefully for yourself before you supply personal data that may set you up for identity theft.

CHECK publicly available resources on the web before applying especially when they have a “strange” email address for applying.

Related Link: The Little White eBook of Homeshoring Jobs profiles 180+ companies that regular hire home-based workers for inbound and outbound callers, customer care, and tech support – complete with salary information, typical schedules, and the tools you’ll need to get the virtual job you want. All of our readers get free updates for life.

In SPAM, Scams

Related Posts

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply